Who Gets To Write the Blog?

I am experiencing writer’s block.  So, I thought I would try an experiment with my blog this time around.  I heard that someone else did this with a degree of success so I am curious about what might happen.

I am looking to hear from you.  Hopefully lots of people will respond.

In the “leave a reply” box below, describe a learning activity or environment you have recently seen that has inspired you and the students to participate beyond anything you could have imagined.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Who Gets To Write the Blog?

  1. Ron Sherman says:

    Yesterday I was able to go watch my son’s “poetry slam cafe” at South Nelson school. Flowers and snacks on each table, hosts and hostesses seating us and bringing refreshments, live entertainment for almost an hour. I would guess there were over 20 parents who came to see the students perform their work. Every child, including the two Korean exchange students, participated. Smiles all around. When asked, my son said, “well, we didn’t learn anything all day, we just got ready for our performance and then in the afternoon we did it”. So, for me this is “beyond” because the students didn’t see it as work or learning, when in fact it was engaging them at the highest level.

    • jjonessd08 says:

      Thanks for sharing Ron. I think it is a good practice to teach learners how to articulate what they learned – or what the purpose of an activity is so they can consider those aspects of all activities with some intentionality. The celebration of learning was a great opportunity for the children.

  2. Kim Morris says:

    I was recently inspired by a tech class at LVR where the teacher and students built their own smart board, including pen, and document camera using a Wii, overhead projector, wood, a screen etc. from an idea they had found on the internet. They built the system for $160.00. So my question is: Was the project built by necessity because the class needed a smart board and didn’t have the budget this year to buy one? Or was the project a “let’s see if we can do this” challenge? Either way, the ingenuity and curiosity was inspiring to me and reminds me to keep resourcefulness and the power of possibilities at the forefront of my own work in the district. Also on my ‘to do’ list is to contact the teacher and find an answer to my question!

  3. jschmidt8 says:

    Last year at Rosemont the staff noticed a trend that showed a higher percentage of students’ with aboriginal ancestry ties being sent to the office. The staff set a school goal to encourage pride in culture and diversity, with a focus on aboriginal cultures. This was with the hopes of raising self-esteem and social responsibility. The staff worked together to set learning outcomes, assessment strategies, Reading Power strategies were included in the lessone and cultural connections. We worked with our parents to choose ledgends from their aboriginal nations to work with. It was inspiring and motivating in the planning, but the most amazing piece was when we began the 6 week multi-age program. Parents became so involved, especially the parents of the aboriginal students, sending in family items and stories for their children to share with others. We ended with a celebration ceromony of all cultures and parents and grandparents attended. Kids were able to speak about their family’s culture and had made connections to elders in their own families. Most interesting was the pride expressed by children and parents of aboriginal connections, with declaratives of “I have aboriginal heritage” frequently heard. Several families came forward to state that there was aboriginal connections.

    Ultimately the students were well versed in understanding and respecting diversity, learned the specifics of many of the aboriginal cultures represented in the children in the school. Were introduced and used all five Reading Power strategies, but most important they were all proud of who they were and where they came from.

  4. Carol Sanders says:

    This year I was fortunate to work at the Learning Centre in PCSS. I still remember the first day I walked into the program. What struck me profoundly was the comments that came from the students. Referring to the High School they said “They don’t like us over there.” “They think we’re the bad ones”.

    Those comments stuck with me for the whole year, and as relationships began with the students, I saw a group of wonderful young adults. They were all striving to achieve in a variety of ways. At the end of the year I am walking away feeling very blessed to have had to opportunity to be on the receiving end of their mentorship.

    I have learned some lessons that will stick with me for the rest of my life.

    Carol Sanders

Leave a Reply

