Through the Eyes of a Child

I wonder what school was like for each child in our school district today?

On Wednesday, during a visit with some very keen grade seven students at one of our schools in Creston, I enjoyed a detailed tour of a model depicting Ancient Mesopotamia.  The model was built with well considered detail, and obviously a great deal of thought and research.  Two students were my tour guides, and they explained to me how they had learned about this culture, and how they decided what needed to be included in the model.  We spoke quite a bit about how human beings survived in those times, and how the culture was similar or different from our own.  Then one of the students surprised me when he pointed to a character in the model and said, “See, that’s me.”  When I asked the other tour guide which character in the model was him, he said with some glee, “I am the king!”

My immediate thought after that interaction was, “I wonder how many students in our school district are this immersed in their learing experiences today?”

Our work is complex. Placed into our care are capable human beings from diverse backgrounds.  We seek to understand their gifts, their talents, their unique genius – and help them to uncover the questions of our time, as they evolve into contributing citizens who participate in the world according to choices they are equipped to make.  We work with the highly capable, the spirited, the curious, and those who challenge our intellect, our processes and our structures.  We receive into our care the broken hearted, the mistreated and abused, the marginalized and those who struggle with fundamental basic skills.

So, what will our legacy be?  When historians look back at public education in the 21st century what story will they see?  I hope they will be able to see a story of dedicated and professional educators.   I hope they will be able to see that we were able to adapt to changing needs of our students over time – because we can.  I hope they will be able to see that our practices were informed by exemplary professional research.

I still wonder though – what would a child tell us about what school was like today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Through the Eyes of a Child

  1. Verna Mayers says:

    I like your Blog. It makes me wonder how my adult children would respond and have they ever asked their chidren. I know I ask my grandchildren all the time.

    • I don’t know if I filled in the blanks correctly. Today I was asked by a community person to check in with a group of girls interested in Destination Imagination. When I arrived I found five girls in the grades 4-5 range who had worked completely on their own on one of the global challenges. My first response to the girls is you are all winners: working as a team , finding a solution, being creative with no adult help. At that point the volunteer community parent and I watched there Solution to the challenge and greatly applauded their efforts. We then proceeded to support them in moving forward with their challenge. It was one of the many experiences in watching children who were not without challenges personally, imbody best practice. Twenty first learning at it’s best! Barb

  2. Dawn Lang says:

    Your musing: “I still wonder though – what would a child tell us about what school was like today?” got me thinking. Maybe a student blog?

Leave a Reply

